I made a server list for Linux users
Moderator: Do_Checkor
- Do_Checkor
- DBB DemiGod
- Posts: 710
- Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Oh, I was just thinking of testing the levels that are played. That is, all the levels that the servers are currently running. The only way to test this it to attempt to join a multiplayer game anyway, as playing it stand alone on a linux machine works fine.Floyd wrote:assumed marix started at the first level in the DB, you may likely start from the last, xam. if he's not already done with it.
Thanks for you interest in helping maintaining the checksum-bug-attribute. I'd be really glad if you would help verifying levels. I just started a thread in the Feedback-Forum of PD where you can post the verified levels.
BTW: I actually started testing levels from the back, but I still have a list of levels that I have tested but haven't had time to upload yet. However I didn't test every level yet, but only those that resided on my harddrive anyways. Therefore I appreciate any level that will be posted to the feedback-thread for me to put into the database.
edit: link to thread: http://www.planetdescent.com/asp/forum_ ... picid=6234
BTW: I actually started testing levels from the back, but I still have a list of levels that I have tested but haven't had time to upload yet. However I didn't test every level yet, but only those that resided on my harddrive anyways. Therefore I appreciate any level that will be posted to the feedback-thread for me to put into the database.
edit: link to thread: http://www.planetdescent.com/asp/forum_ ... picid=6234
- FunkyStickman
- DBB Ace
- Posts: 309
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
- Location: 'Nawlins
Look for calls to os.system in d3gui.py. It's called from two different locations, one of which is in join_game() and another in join_manual_game(). join_game() is called when you click and join a game on the server list whereas join_manual_game() is called when you use the `Join Manual IP' option.
Of course it would be better if extra command-line parameters for D3 were specified only once somewhere else and then used in both cases so you wouldn't need to change it in multiple places. Something like...
somewhere, maybe after the imports and before any function calls, and
for both os.system() calls... Or even better, something for specifying the parameters in the GUI but they'd probably need to be saved somewhere in that case.
By the way, it's python, not perl.
Edit:
The example of the options isn't equivalent to the original options in d3gui.py, and it's just the set of options I (sometimes) use, so edit it to your needs.
Of course it would be better if extra command-line parameters for D3 were specified only once somewhere else and then used in both cases so you wouldn't need to change it in multiple places. Something like...
Code: Select all
d3opts = "--nointro --framecap 0 --deadzone0 0.1"
Code: Select all
os.system("descent3 "+d3opts);
By the way, it's python, not perl.
Edit:
The example of the options isn't equivalent to the original options in d3gui.py, and it's just the set of options I (sometimes) use, so edit it to your needs.
- FunkyStickman
- DBB Ace
- Posts: 309
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
- Location: 'Nawlins
I use XQF v1.0.3 and it shows d3.descent.cx servers.Delkian wrote:Actually there is even a graphical client that can read Descent 3 server information, and that's XQF. The problem with it is that it can't read the server list from descent.cx, and I don't know of any other publically usable master server that would have a useful list of D3 servers (Gamespy's master servers aren't publically available, they require an authentication method which is proprietary).
For gamespy servers you need to install gslist. Run gslist -u (updates gamelist) then you can add gslist masters to XQF.
- Do_Checkor
- DBB DemiGod
- Posts: 710
- Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:01 am
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
- FunkyStickman
- DBB Ace
- Posts: 309
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 2:26 pm
- Location: 'Nawlins