Speed up loading times in Mozilla/FireBird/FireFox/FireWhate
-
- Defender of the Night
- Posts: 13477
- Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
- Location: Olathe, KS
- Contact:
Speed up loading times in Mozilla/FireBird/FireFox/FireWhate
1. Type "about:config" in the adress field.
2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"
5. Set the value of nglayout.initialpaint.delay to "0"
Now watch as the loading times that already beat IE's go into overkill mode.
2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"
5. Set the value of nglayout.initialpaint.delay to "0"
Now watch as the loading times that already beat IE's go into overkill mode.
- De Rigueur
- DBB Admiral
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2001 2:01 am
- Location: Rural Mississippi, USA
- De Rigueur
- DBB Admiral
- Posts: 1189
- Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2001 2:01 am
- Location: Rural Mississippi, USA
- DarkShadow
- DBB Admiral
- Posts: 1371
- Joined: Thu Apr 29, 1999 2:01 am
- Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
- Contact:
Fast++, especially on sites (like the fricken SimCity website) that consist of over 100 images.
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Defender of the Night
- Posts: 13477
- Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
- Location: Olathe, KS
- Contact:
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial">quote:</font><HR><font face="Arial" size="3">Originally posted by fliptw:
<b> If its not there in about:config, its possibly something that mozilla can't use.
FireFox != Mozilla, tho you can build both from the same tarball.</b></font><HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Actually flip, theres quite a few things that Mozilla supports in about:config that isn't there by default....such as making websites think that you're using a different browser. I've been using this tweak for the past couple of days without any ill effects.
<b> If its not there in about:config, its possibly something that mozilla can't use.
FireFox != Mozilla, tho you can build both from the same tarball.</b></font><HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Actually flip, theres quite a few things that Mozilla supports in about:config that isn't there by default....such as making websites think that you're using a different browser. I've been using this tweak for the past couple of days without any ill effects.
create a user.js file with the given values, like this:
and put them in firefox/mozilla's profile folder.
Code: Select all
user_pref("network.http.pipelining",true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests",100);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining",true);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay",0);
and put them in firefox/mozilla's profile folder.
Re: Speed up loading times in Mozilla/FireBird/FireFox/FireW
May cause problems -- if that's applied to how many open requests go to a server: Typical settings are "4" for 1.0 servers and "2" for 1.1 servers (RFC2068).MD-2389 wrote:3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
for some reason those settings are ALREADY set in my install of firefox. i'm prettysure i havn't manually set them since i last dumped a fresh windows install image.
maybe these settings are now automatically set by firefox as default in firefox ver1 (publicbeta).
perhaps someone else who has not manually applied these settings and has a fresh install of firefox could check it out to see if they are already set?
maybe these settings are now automatically set by firefox as default in firefox ver1 (publicbeta).
perhaps someone else who has not manually applied these settings and has a fresh install of firefox could check it out to see if they are already set?
- Mr. Perfect
- DBB Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 2817
- Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2000 2:01 am
- Location: Cape May Court House, New Jersey.
- Contact:
Re: Speed up loading times in Mozilla/FireBird/FireFox/FireW
Lil bump for a question about this tactic.
What kind of problems would that cause? If I wanted to be safe and leave it at default of 4, would I be seeing a theoretical speed increase of 4% of MD's settings or what?Grendel wrote:May cause problems -- if that's applied to how many open requests go to a server: Typical settings are "4" for 1.0 servers and "2" for 1.1 servers (RFC2068).MD-2389 wrote:3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
- Mr. Perfect
- DBB Fleet Admiral
- Posts: 2817
- Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2000 2:01 am
- Location: Cape May Court House, New Jersey.
- Contact: