Page 1 of 1

Texture Baking for D3.

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:22 am
by []V[]essenjah
From what I understand, it is commonplace these days to make a high-resolution mesh, lay out the UV coordinates and paint onto the High Resolution UV textures as apposed to the low resolution textures. What exactly is the advantage of doing this?


D3 only allows for 128X128 textures, and I prefer to just split up the model, lay out the UV's for each peice carefully and paint a bunch of 128X128 textures. I find that if I paint them on the mesh I have created directly, instead of making a high resolution mesh, painting on a high resolution texture, and scaling it down, if instead, you create a low poly mesh split it up as I mentioned above, and paint onto each 128X128 texture carefully, you get a bit more detail out of it. But that might just be me too.


Any thoughts?

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:59 am
by Floyd
limited number of (custom) textures.

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:04 am
by []V[]essenjah
:? Not sure what you mean.

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:26 pm
by Kyouryuu
I think what he's saying is that you might be limited by the number of textures you can have. I don't recall completely, but I think Descent 3 has a hard limit on the total number of textures per level. Obviously, if you require several 128x128 textures for one character, you are increasing the texture count.

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:16 am
by Duper
that is correct.

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:18 am
by []V[]essenjah
Actually, I'm hoping to run this thing off it's own HOG file. Regardless, I'll have to use several 128X128 textures. Even the regular GL uses a rather high number of textures.

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:06 am
by SuperSheep
Well, you could replace textures instead. I did that for a level I was working on that required more than the remaining texture count.

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:12 pm
by []V[]essenjah
Oh, you just mean renaming the textures to match the original textures? That's a precaution I've been taking anyway, just to make it work better in-game in the first place. This mod is intended mostly as a visual replacer. But I plan to balance some of the ship and weapons in the final build using a HOG file. But for the demo release, I'll probably go this route.

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:16 pm
by Pumo
All that texture limit problems occurs only on 1.4 and below (if i'm not wrong). Use D3 v1.5 instead.

I'm (slowly :P ) making a little D3 campaign with a LOT of custom new 128x128 textures, and it doesn't works on version 1.4, but it works perfectly on 1.5.

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:52 pm
by Sirius
Except v1.5 isn't really well-supported or anything.